Post Holiday Post Mortem and a confession

So I picked up the Rift Expansion (Storm Legion Infinity Edition) with the mount and portal but I did not bite on the one that came with the Stormbringer title and required you to buy a year of the game. After my experience with the World of Warcraft Annual Pass last year and my fickle gaming habits it was not a smart move for me. I did not even subscribe when it launched but I am back in for a month at least as of yesterday and I am having fun re-rolling my Cleric as a Defiant. I cannot get into the Guardian story or lore and I really don’t like any of the races despite having a level 50 High Elf Cleric.

Speaking of WoW, I did pick up the expansion for $20 braving the massive crowd at Target on Black Friday Eve. I did not really take advantage of the content however. I was subscribed for a month over the holidays but my time was spent leveling a discipline priest. I really fell in love with the vampiric style of healing you get with the attonement ability you get in the 30s that makes your smites heal for 1/2 the damage done (100% of the damage if it is not you being healed). I got into the 70s which is still a couple expansions behind Pandaria. I have characters spread over three servers in WoW and they don’t allow cross server mail and transfers cost $25 per character. I really like how Rift makes it not only easy to level a character, but you get free server moves once a week.

For single player gaming my squad in X-COM has been sitting the bench. I also picked up StarCraft 2 for $20 and found the story enjoyable but I have not progressed too far into it. It’s mostly been MMOs all the way.

My confession is that I broke down and bought GuildWars 2 after my trip in August. I was in a gaming funk and wanted something new. Plus my gaming brother was so gung-ho I decided to give it a try against my better judgement. I don’t know how to explain it but I have tried and tried and I just cannot get into it. Maybe it’s because you have to play it like a pvp’er and constantly be moving and dodging out-of-the-way of the mobs. Maybe its the weak self-healing and lack of the trinity type healing class. I even tried the Thief since the stealth abilities help you get out of combat but nothing is clicking with me.

I also grabbed up The Secret World when it dropped the subscription fee but before they put it on sale. I have done some research on builds and had a little more success but not enough to make me play it more than once every couple of weeks so far.

So were your holiday gaming endeavors rewarding?

This entry was posted in General site stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

