The Rift was not so empty after all

Sorry that it’s been a while since my last post. I got a stretch of time where things calmed down and I selfishly gobbled it all up with gaming goodness. I plan on posting about my adventures in Diablo 3 and the enigma that is EvE Online later this week. But I wanted to get something up about Rift.

I was a big fan of Rift from the start. Like most of my MMO larks of the last couple years, I heard about it from Syp. I got into the middle of the betas (beta 4 I believe) and played the heck out of each archetype to find out which one I really clicked with. For me it was the Rogue, specifically the Bard class. That was an unusual choice for me, but the idea of doing damage and healing myself while doing it really played into my enjoyment of the vampiric play style of the EQ2 Shadowknight or my fantasy daydreams of being Elric wielding Stormbringer.

So I buckled down and did not play any alts (well mostly) until I hit max level on my Rogue. I fell in with a great guild on the Keenblade server and was even doing things unheard of for me (grouping, heroics, raiding). Then the poop hit the fan when the SWTOR beta started. I got into that and suddenly logging into Rift was taking away my precious time from SWTOR even though it was beta and I was going to lose everything anyway. I was obsessed like anyone gets (right?) about a new MMO with all that shiny stuff you have never seen or done before.

It’s pretty ironic that now Rift is one of the things that I’m starting to feel compelled to play now that SWTOR has lost its luster with me temporarily. Let’s be honest here. I am one of the most fickle gamers you will ever meet and I usually play one of every single class to the detriment of any kind of reaching max level. But I have come to terms with it and I accept it. I know I will go back to SWTOR at some time, just not right now. Right now all I want to do is play Rift and get my other three callings up to level 50 before the new expansion comes out.

I have been dipping my toe into the Rift Lite version where you can play up to two characters per server up to level 20. Then last night something happened where I had to change my password (something about upgrading their security) and they wound up giving me a trinket item that adds 10% to money gains from monsters and also activated my account for 3 days. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I logged into my old server and started digging though all the backpacks and banks and I think I am sucked back in. I also did some research on what the busiest servers are and moved my characters to one of those (Deepwood).

So here I am, contemplating signing up for 6 months to get the next batch of their veteran’s rewards (I already have 6 months in towards them) and anxious to straighten out my banks and bags so I can get on with the happy leveling to 50 for my Cleric, Mage, and Warrior. What could go wrong, right?

This entry was posted in #mmos, #rift and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

